What are lacto-vegetarian sources of BCAAs?
Can consume the following:
- Dairy based - Work for lacto - veg
- Plant based - Work for Vegans as well
- No eggs or animal / meat/ fish
Medical Sciences Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for professionals in medical and allied health fields, students of those professions, related academics, and others with a sound understanding of medicine and healthcare-related sciences. It only takes a minute to sign up.Sign up to join this community
Branch chain amino acids is a term used for three of the essential amino acids. They are not something exotic, but something humans need to survive, and contained in most human foods. In fact, if they were missing from your diet, you'd have a protein deficiency, something practically unheard of in the Western world in our times.
As long as you are eating protein from sufficiently varied sources, avoiding these amino acids would be almost impossible even if you tried to do it on purpose. So listing the foods which contain BCAA makes no sense, the list is almost as long as the foods you can eat.
If looking at main food groups, you will get them from
You won't be able to get them from fruit and vegetables, because they are almost all water and no protein, or from honey or maple syrup, because these are sugars, and have no protein. For the food groups listed above, assume unprocessed variants. That is, whole wheat berries will contain them, wheat starch won't, and for any other product "in the middle" you'll need to know the exact type of processing, or just look it up in a standard nutrition database. Dairy is the exception, it will keep them when processed into cheese or yoghurt (but not butter).
If you buy labelled food, the amount of BCAA will correlate well with the amount of protein given on the label, with variance between foods being leveled out by a varied diet.